October 13 - 16, 2021

The races for this cup were the result of a desire on the part of a group of British and American yachtsmen to encourage international racing. The agreement under which the races were held was made between the Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club and four British clubs, the Royal Yacht Squadron, Royal Thames Yacht Club, Royal London Yacht Club and Royal Victoria Yacht Club.

The cup was donated one-half by Mr. Percy Chubb on behalf of the Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club. The other half was donated by the four British Yacht Clubs, above named, to be raced for by teams of four boats each, the British boats to be designed and built in Great Britain, the American boats to be designed and built in the United States.

The original arrangement contemplated the building of boats for the team races to be sailed in Great Britain to rate in the six meter class under the International Rule of Measurement, and for those to be sailed in America to rate in the “R” class under the Universal Rule of Measurement. That arrangement was subsequently changed at the request of the British clubs, and all races for the cup were held in the six meter class.

The races were to be held alternately in England and the United States, the country first to win two successive matches to become the permanent possessor of the cup.

In Great Britain the races were held on the Solent, under the auspices of the four British clubs, which were parties to the agreement. In the United States the Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club conducted all the races.
Places on the respective teams were not confined to the Clubs which were parties to the agreement but were determined by open competition on both sides.

Notice of Race
Sailing Instructions
100th Anniversary History Brochure