July 21, 2021
This is a permanent trophy given by Dr. Henry A. Rusch, Jr., in memory of his father, preceptor of sound seamanship, and for many years a member of the Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club. It is to be raced for annually by members of the Seawanhaka Ladies Sailing Class, under such terms and conditions as the Ladies Sailing Committee shall determine, and to be awarded to the winner of a series of races held in Oyster Bay. The winner shall be given a permanent token and shall have possession of the trophy until the opening of the Club the following season. The trophy is named for the schooner Kiwassa, Henry A. Rusch, owner, which took first prize on June 9, 1903, in Class C, in the ocean race under the auspices of the Atlantic Yacht Club. The half model of this schooner, under the name Viator, now hangs in the Club Model Room.